Specialist article · PRP and the temporomandibular joint
PRP for temporomandibular disorders: what the current evidence actually shows
PRP has been studied for intra-articular temporomandibular disorders for years. The evidence base is now substantially larger, but it remains heterogeneous. The key question is therefore not only whether PRP shows clinical effects, but in which TMD diagnosis, against which comparator, and with which preparation and injection protocol.
Summary
Positive clinical signals – but no general superiority
The largest PRP-specific meta-analysis to date included 31 studies with 1,359 patients. Compared with arthrocentesis, hyaluronic acid and corticosteroids, advantages in pain or maximum mouth opening were seen at individual follow-up time points. This does not establish general superiority: a separate meta-analysis of seven RCTs found no significant difference between PRP and hyaluronic acid after arthrocentesis for pain or mouth opening at 1, 3 or 6 months.24
The most consistent signal is seen in arthrogenic or intra-articular TMD, especially degenerative TMJ disease and TMJ osteoarthritis. Myofascial TMD has a separate and clearly weaker evidence base and should not be mixed with intra-articular data.17
Diagnosis before intervention
TMD is not a single disease
The term TMD covers different pain and functional disorders. This distinction is essential when interpreting the PRP literature: the stronger clinical data come from intra-articular or arthrogenic disorders. They must not automatically be extrapolated to primarily muscular complaints.
TMJ osteoarthritis / DJD
This is where disease-specific PRP evidence is most consistent. A meta-analysis of six RCTs involving 199 patients found benefits for pain and maximum mouth opening, but not clearly for joint sounds.1
Internal derangement / disc displacement
Positive results have been reported, but often together with arthrocentesis and in mixed diagnostic groups. This makes it difficult to separate the effect of PRP from lavage, puncture or concomitant treatment.6
Myofascial TMD
PRP has also been studied intramuscularly and at trigger points. A 2026 network meta-analysis found a short-term analgesic signal but rated the certainty of evidence for PRP as low.7
Important: Myofascial TMD is not the same indication as intra-articular TMJ osteoarthritis. A positive joint finding must not be extrapolated to masticatory muscle pain.
Interactive evidence map
Where is the evidence for PRP strongest?
The bars are not effect sizes; they are an editorial assessment of the breadth of evidence based on the reviews evaluated in this article. The rationale is shown directly below each evidence indicator.
Why knee data cannot simply be transferred
The temporomandibular joint differs markedly in anatomy and biomechanics from large limb joints. Clinical PRP data from the knee can therefore provide biological plausibility, but they do not replace TMJ-specific studies. Injection volumes used in TMJ studies, usually around 0.4 to 2 mL, are also substantially smaller than in many orthopaedic PRP protocols.2
Interactive · no JavaScript
Evidence explorer: PRP in direct comparison
All three comparator groups are fully visible. Selected statistically significant differences from the meta-analysis by Tsai et al. are shown; missing entries do not mean “no effect”, but that no significant between-group difference was reported for that time point.2
PRP vs. arthrocentesis
Selected significant differences
The functional difference is only a few millimetres. Statistical significance therefore does not automatically mean clinical relevance.
PRP vs. hyaluronic acid
Tsai et al. 2025 – selected time points
A separate meta-analysis of seven RCTs after arthrocentesis found no significant difference between PRP and HA at 1, 3 or 6 months.4
PRP vs. corticosteroid
Pain – selected significant differences
The direction is interesting, but the small studies and heterogeneous protocols do not support a general claim of superiority.
PRP vs. hyaluronic acid over time
The graphic deliberately shows why the overall conclusion should not be “PRP is better”.
Bar lengths are for visual orientation within this module only and must not be interpreted across different dimensions as standardised effect sizes.
Interpretation
The comparisons partly conflict – and that matters
A single meta-analysis can create an overly clear picture here. When the major evidence syntheses are considered together, a more nuanced pattern emerges.
Pain is the most consistent signal
In TMJ osteoarthritis, the 2025 RCT meta-analysis after joint puncture found a pooled benefit for pain reduction. Heterogeneity and differences in protocols remain important.1
PRP vs HA remains inconsistent
Tsai et al. found advantages in favour of PRP at individual time points. By contrast, a separate seven-RCT meta-analysis after arthrocentesis found no significant differences in pain or mouth opening at 1, 3 or 6 months.24
Arthrocentesis may be stronger in the short term
A 2026 meta-analysis of 31 studies and 1,718 participants found an advantage for arthrocentesis in mouth opening after one week, but a pain advantage in favour of PRP after six months.6
Counterpoint to the superiority claim: A 2022 network meta-analysis found no statistically established superiority of PRP, hyaluronic acid or corticosteroids over placebo for pain or function in TMJ osteoarthritis. This is an important reason not to describe PRP as a proven superior treatment.5
Methodology
Why PRP studies in the temporomandibular joint are so difficult to compare
The central weakness of this field is not only the number of small studies. Several variables change at the same time — diagnosis, preparation, dose, arthrocentesis and follow-up. As a result, an observed difference often cannot be clearly attributed to a single factor.
Mixed diagnoses
TMJ-OA, arthralgia and different forms of disc displacement are sometimes pooled together. This makes diagnosis-specific conclusions more difficult.
Final PRP product
Platelet count, leukocyte content, activation and erythrocyte contamination are often not reported. The biological dose is therefore difficult to compare.
Centrifugation
Single- versus double-spin protocols, run times and rotors differ. Pure rpm values without rotor radius are not reproducible across systems.
Arthrocentesis
PRP is used either alone or after lavage. Technique and irrigation volume also vary and may themselves produce clinical effects.
Dose & sessions
Volume, number of applications and intervals vary. A validated dose–response relationship for the temporomandibular joint is lacking.
Outcomes
VAS and maximum mouth opening dominate. Quality of life, responder rates and standardized imaging are assessed much less often.
On the frequently cited “1000-rpm” sensitivity analysis: After excluding one study that reported a lower centrifugation speed, Xu et al. observed lower heterogeneity and a larger pooled pain effect. This suggests that differences in preparation may matter — not proof, that higher rotational speeds are clinically more effective. A single sensitivity analysis cannot disentangle centrifugation, patient selection, PRP composition and injection regimen.1
Published protocols
What individual PRP studies actually did
The following examples come from published TMJ studies and a network meta-analysis with tabulated protocol descriptions. They show the real range — and are not a protocol recommendation.10
| Study | PRP preparation | Application | Methodological point |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chandra et al. 2021 | 1,800 rpm / 15 min, then 3,500 rpm / 10 min | 0.6 mL PRP intra-articularly | Double spin; without rotor radius, RCF cannot be transferred |
| Hancı et al. 2015 | 1,000 × g / 20 min, then 1,500 × g / 10 min | 0.6 mL PRP | RCF reported in × g — physically more comparable |
| Singh et al. 2021 | Single spin, 2,000 rpm / 8 min | 1 mL PRP after arthrocentesis | different preparation principle from double-spin protocols |
| Toameh et al. 2019 | Single spin, 3,400 rpm / 4 min | 1 mL PRP after arthrocentesis | RPM without radius prevents cross-system comparison |
| Jacob et al. 2021 | Single spin; specific centrifugation parameters not reported | 1 mL PRP after arthrocentesis | clinical comparison possible, product reproducibility limited |
| Pihut et al. 2020 | preparation not fully characterized in a standardized way in the review | 0.4 mL PRP × 3, 10-day interval | additional heterogeneity due to repeated injections |
| Cömert Kiliç et al. 2016 | study-specific PRP preparation | 1 mL PRP × 5 after arthrocentesis | markedly different dosing regimen from single injections |
What a reproducible TMJ-PRP study should report: Tube type, anticoagulant, RCF in × g, rotor radius, number of spins, run time, final volume, absolute platelet count, leukocyte and erythrocyte content, activation, time to injection, injection volume and compartment, as well as arthrocentesis technique and lavage volume.
For technical guidance on RCF, RPM and rotor radius, the Knowledge & Tools section provides suitable calculators and documentation tools.
Safety
Favourable signal, but incomplete reporting
PRP is generally well tolerated in clinical studies. However, a reliable frequency of rare complications cannot be given because adverse events were not systematically or fully reported in many PRP studies.
A systematic review published in 2025 on neurological complications after intra-articular TMJ interventions overall — not specifically PRP — mainly describes transient facial or trigeminal nerve symptoms. Local anaesthesia and large lavage volumes were discussed among possible risk factors.11
This complication review does not establish that PRP-only injections are safer than arthrocentesis. Sufficiently large direct safety comparisons are lacking.
PRP, PRF and i-PRF
Similar origin — but not interchangeable procedures
PRP and PRF/i-PRF are often discussed together in reviews. However, preparation principle, anticoagulation, coagulation dynamics and fibrin content differ. Results from an i-PRF study are therefore not PRP data.
PRP
- larger clinical evidence base in the TMJ
- substantial heterogeneity of preparation protocols
- comparisons with arthrocentesis, HA and corticosteroids available
- for TMJ-DJD, RCT data without arthrocentesis are also available3
PRF / i-PRF
- growing number of small clinical studies
- 700 rpm / 3 min or approximately 60 × g reported in several controlled studies
- 2026 network meta-analysis shows benefits of i-PRF after arthrocentesis versus placebo
- network rankings do not prove direct superiority over PRP
Evidence box — PRP vs PRF/i-PRF: A 2026 network meta-analysis of 19 RCTs and 783 patients found greater pain reduction with i-PRF after arthrocentesis versus placebo at 1, 3 and 12 months. Such indirect network comparisons do not replace a sufficiently large direct PRP-vs-i-PRF RCT. A small direct comparison exists, but it is not sufficient to establish a reliable hierarchy of blood products.89
Treatment pathway
PRP is not first-line therapy for TMD as a whole
The 2023 BMJ guideline for chronic TMD pain prioritizes conservative and behavioural approaches such as jaw exercises, mobilization, manual therapy and education. In this broad chronic TMD population, conditional recommendations were made against routine use of arthrocentesis, hyaluronic acid injections and corticosteroid injections.12
However, this guideline addresses a different question from a PRP study in clearly defined TMJ osteoarthritis. Both points should be considered together: PRP is not an established standard for TMD in general, while a relevant clinical evidence base now exists for selected intra-articular diagnoses.
For a specialist article, the wording “possible minimally invasive option for selected intra-articular TMD” is therefore more defensible than “treatment for TMD”.
Research gaps
What the next generation of studies needs to address
- DC/TMD-stratified RCTs instead of mixed diagnostic groups.
- Complete characterization of the final PRP product rather than only a centrifuge setting.
- Direct comparisons of leukocyte-poor and leukocyte-rich PRP in the TMJ.
- Dose-finding for volume, number of injections and interval.
- PRP alone versus PRP after arthrocentesis with identical follow-up.
- Sufficiently large direct PRP-vs-i-PRF studies.
- Responder rates and patient-reported quality of life rather than only mean values.
- Standardized MRI/CBCT outcomes and follow-up beyond twelve months.
Not established at present are structural cartilage regeneration in humans, a clinically superior PRP centrifugation protocol, or a universally optimal platelet concentration for the TMJ.
Further reading
Tools and specialist articles on prpmed.de
Sources
References
- Xu F, Zhang J, Wu L et al. Does intra-articular injection of PRP help patients with temporomandibular joint osteoarthritis after joint puncture? A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. BMC Oral Health. 2025;25:475. PubMed
- Tsai JH, Tam KW, Yang JD, Hsu TH. Effectiveness of platelet-rich plasma for treating temporomandibular joint disorders: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Pain Medicine. 2025;26(10):655–672. PubMed
- Wielandt V, Verdugo-Paiva F, Oyarzo JF et al. Exploring the efficacy and safety of platelet-rich plasma without arthrocentesis in temporomandibular joint degenerative disease treatment: a systematic review and meta-analysis. CRANIO. 2026;44(2):342–363. PubMed
- Li J, Chen H. Intra-articular injection of platelet-rich plasma vs hyaluronic acid as an adjunct to TMJ arthrocentesis: a systematic review and meta-analysis. J Stomatol Oral Maxillofac Surg. 2024;125(2):101676. PubMed
- Xie Y, Zhao K, Ye G et al. Effectiveness of intra-articular injections of sodium hyaluronate, corticosteroids, platelet-rich plasma on temporomandibular joint osteoarthritis: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. J Evid Based Dent Pract. 2022;22(3):101720. PubMed
- Huang X, Tao Y, Cen Z et al. Comparative efficacy of arthrocentesis, platelet-rich plasma (PRP), and conservative therapies for TMJ disorders: a systematic review and meta-analysis. J Craniomaxillofac Surg. 2026;54(9):104596. PubMed
- Ma F, Jia B, Liu Z et al. Comparison and ranking of interventions for temporomandibular disorders-myofascial pain syndrome: a Bayesian network meta-analysis based on randomized controlled trials. BMC Oral Health. 2026;26:1032. PubMed
- Comparative efficacy of arthrocentesis combined with different drug injections for arthrogenic temporomandibular disorders: a network meta-analysis of randomized trials. BMC Oral Health. 2026. PMID 42374337. PubMed
- A comparative analysis between intra-articular injections of injectable platelet rich fibrin versus platelet rich plasma in the management of temporomandibular disorders: a randomized control trial. 2023. PMC
- Xu J et al. Comparative effectiveness of hyaluronic acid, platelet-rich plasma, and platelet-rich fibrin in treating temporomandibular disorders: a systematic review and network meta-analysis. Head & Face Medicine. 2023;19:39. PMC
- Chęciński M et al. Neurological Complications Following Temporomandibular Joint Injections in Patients with Temporomandibular Disorders: A Systematic Review of Reported Adverse Events. 2025. PubMed
- Busse JW, Casassus R, Carrasco-Labra A et al. Management of chronic pain associated with temporomandibular disorders: a clinical practice guideline. BMJ. 2023;383:e076227. BMJ
Specialist information. This article is intended for healthcare professionals and provides a scientific overview. It does not constitute an individual treatment recommendation. Diagnosis, indication, informed consent and treatment are the responsibility of appropriately qualified clinicians. Information on PRP preparation and centrifugation must only be used in the context of the relevant manufacturer documentation and intended purpose.
Regulatory questions relating to the German Medicines Act (AMG), Transfusion Act (TFG) and SoHO Regulation (EU) 2024/1938 are deliberately outside the scope of this clinical evidence article and should be addressed separately.